Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Super Bowl: Picture Proof of Big Ben's TD
Fox Sports Pittsburgh ^ | February 7, 2006

Posted on 02/08/2006 5:18:46 AM PST by mcg2000



TOPICS: Sports
KEYWORDS: blurryinconclusive; nfl; pittsburgh; seahawks; seattle; steelers; superbowl; touchdown; whocares
Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first previous 1-20 ... 61-8081-100101-120 ... 281-291 next last
To: freedumb2003
"There was ONE bad call -- the Hassleback illgeal block on the INT return."

I am an offical and I do not know the difference between a "block" and a "tackle"?

NFL officals 101, I learned this very early, when you have the ball, you "block." When the other team has the ball you "tackle."

NFL Officials now owe me a $10,000 consulting fee.
81 posted on 02/08/2006 5:53:45 AM PST by hadaclueonce (shoot low, they are riding Shetlands.....)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 65 | View Replies]

To: Junior_G

I agree wholeheartedly.


82 posted on 02/08/2006 5:54:16 AM PST by MortMan (Trains stop at train stations. On my desk is a workstation...)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 79 | View Replies]

To: mcg2000
Questions?

Looks like he fumbled. That blurry object is not in his hand.

83 posted on 02/08/2006 5:54:55 AM PST by Always Right
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: mcg2000
The Stealers have had the refs on their side for years, ask any kid who was an Oilers fan. Cheated us out of a couple of titles.
84 posted on 02/08/2006 5:55:36 AM PST by TWfromTEXAS
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: hadaclueonce
When you call Blocking below the waist on a tackle and it is not reviewable, that is just wrong.

JUst to clear this misconception up -- he was not called for Blocking below the waist on the TACKLE. He was flagged for cutting #26 in his attempt to get to the ballcarrier. A defender - which Hasslebeck was -- cannot cut a blocker below the knees in an attempt to get to the ballcarrier. That is what was called.

That said, it was a very lame call, yes it was by the rules but it was lame. The Cut was incidental, Hasslebeck was NOT trying to get the blocker out of the way, which is the intent of the rule. He dove at Taylor and #26 just happened to barrell over the top of him during the play.

The three Big Penalties called on Seattlke were all TECHNICALLY penalties by a strict interpretation of the rules.
1. Jackson extends his arm and pushes off Taylor in Endzone, a very slight pushoff that probably had no bearing whatsoever on the end result - Taylor was never in position to break up the pass. But, that is called almost every single time it happens, and it is the rule.

2. Holding on pass to 1 yd line. Again a strict interpretation shows that that Lineman "slightly" hooked the right shoulder of the rusher. However, he did not impeded the rusher and the hold had no impact on the play as Hasslebeck was already throwing the ball and the rusher was never going to get to him. But again, It was holding in the strictest sense of the rules.

3. the Cut by Hasslebeck while tackling Taylor. Agian, by the strictest interpretation of the rules it was a penalty.

all 3 calls could have been ignored, but they were technically penalties. So if anything the officials were guilty of calling the game too close.

85 posted on 02/08/2006 5:56:32 AM PST by commish (Freedom Tastes Sweetest to Those Who Have Fought to Preserve It)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 66 | View Replies]

To: hadaclueonce

Are you kidding?


86 posted on 02/08/2006 5:58:07 AM PST by andrew2527
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 81 | View Replies]

To: TWfromTEXAS
I love the smell of whine in the morning. Thanks!
87 posted on 02/08/2006 6:00:08 AM PST by steelyourfaith
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 84 | View Replies]

To: MortMan
And if you didn't get the hint about "apex of the dive", a dive (by definition" starts highest and ends lowest. So, he dove from about 2 yards out of the end zone - the apex being 2 yards away from the plane.

Human beings, being earthbound, must go up to go down. In the NFL a "dive" really is a leap. It is not a "dive" as you find in competetive diving. I will try to avoid using such arcane technical football terms since it confuses you so much.

The apex of the leap (not shown) was where the ball broke the plane. If it broke it again (hard to say from this pic but it still looks like it) it doesn't matter -- it is merely icing on the cake.

There is frequently a delay between a play and the call. That lag is called "human beings officiating the game."

Now, can you quote me the replay rule? Anyone?

88 posted on 02/08/2006 6:00:17 AM PST by freedumb2003 (American troops cannot be defeated. American Politicians can.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 80 | View Replies]

To: Junior_G
Here is the proof that your picture does NOT show the ball going over the goal line...not even close:

Great picture. It clearly shows his wristband did break the plane.

89 posted on 02/08/2006 6:00:34 AM PST by Always Right
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 24 | View Replies]

To: Always Right

Nobody suggests he fumbled.

He didn't.


90 posted on 02/08/2006 6:01:40 AM PST by freedumb2003 (American troops cannot be defeated. American Politicians can.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 83 | View Replies]

To: TommyDale

"You mean you finally figured out that NFL is entertainmnent, rather than a sport? "

Yeal I have now. I was slow but they rubbed my face in it. Never again.

Glad I did not have to wait until they were hitting each other with chairs or jumping off the top rope to understand it is "fake."

Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me.

Heck, I did not even like either team, I just feel duped.


91 posted on 02/08/2006 6:02:00 AM PST by hadaclueonce (shoot low, they are riding Shetlands.....)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 74 | View Replies]

People ... it's just a game. Life does not depend on the outcome. Let it go. Besides, they probably would've scored on the following play had the call been overturned.


92 posted on 02/08/2006 6:04:05 AM PST by al_c
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: commish
all 3 calls could have been ignored, but they were technically penalties. So if anything the officials were guilty of calling the game too close.

And only against one team. Don't forget that little morsel.

93 posted on 02/08/2006 6:07:54 AM PST by Junior_G
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 85 | View Replies]

To: N. Theknow
Let's start a poll. Which sucked worst at Super Bowl XL?

A. The officiating

B. The singing of the Star Spangled Banner or if you prefer the Star Mangled Banner

C. The Half-timne show with the Rolling Stones and the Rent-A-Groupies

< D. The stupid Pepsi commercials.

94 posted on 02/08/2006 6:08:49 AM PST by Always Right
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 51 | View Replies]

To: MortMan
Actually they do not signal the down until after they have spotted the ball for the next play. All the raised arm indicates is "The play is over, I HAVE THE SPOT".

That said, I hardly ever remember seeing a referee raise his arm to call the spot before signalling a touchdown -- they always just signal touchdown.

So in that sense it does lead one to believe he was moving to spot the ball, and can lead to the interpretation that he did not call the TD until he saw the ball laying in the Endzone.

Also, let me clear up some earlier statements -- I know I have been arguing that the ball crossed the plane -- I personally believe it did. However, the photos shown on this thread and even watching it live it is truly inclonclusive -- a person will see what they see, and then will defend that position, especially on a play that is so inconclusive. If the Ref had spotted the ball at the one inch line, I would have upheld the call if I were the reviewer. Just as I would have upheld the call of a TD if I were the reviewer. You just honestly cannot tell, so whatever the Ref on the field calls is going to stand.

The problem then arises in the Refs mixed signals and slow call of the play.

95 posted on 02/08/2006 6:09:08 AM PST by commish (Freedom Tastes Sweetest to Those Who Have Fought to Preserve It)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 64 | View Replies]

To: freedumb2003

So what is the QB slide rule?


96 posted on 02/08/2006 6:09:48 AM PST by new cruelty
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 33 | View Replies]

To: al_c

"People ... it's just a game. Life does not depend on the outcome. Let it go. Besides, they probably would've scored on the following play had the call been overturned."

your may be right. But the NFL to have Part time Officals who are never judged, to save a couple dollars, well that is just about a sin.



97 posted on 02/08/2006 6:10:03 AM PST by hadaclueonce (shoot low, they are riding Shetlands.....)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 92 | View Replies]

To: Junior_G
And only against one team. Don't forget that little morsel.

And the non-call on the clip on Ben R?

98 posted on 02/08/2006 6:10:48 AM PST by freedumb2003 (American troops cannot be defeated. American Politicians can.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 93 | View Replies]

To: new cruelty

When a QB slides feet first the ball is down at at the ball spot when he BEGINS the slide.


99 posted on 02/08/2006 6:11:52 AM PST by freedumb2003 (American troops cannot be defeated. American Politicians can.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 96 | View Replies]

To: freedumb2003
Nobody suggests he fumbled. He didn't.

Well if that white object in the fuzzy picture was the football, it was a fumble. But as is shown later that white object is the wristband on the arm holding on to the football. So we have concluded the wristband did break the plane of the endzone. But it was a real close call and you can't fault the ref. In reality, the ref gave Pittsburg the TD because Ben snuck the ball over the goal line after he was down. There is no way the ref could have determined if the ball broke the plane from 20 yards away.

100 posted on 02/08/2006 6:12:40 AM PST by Always Right
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 90 | View Replies]


Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first previous 1-20 ... 61-8081-100101-120 ... 281-291 next last

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson