JUst to clear this misconception up -- he was not called for Blocking below the waist on the TACKLE. He was flagged for cutting #26 in his attempt to get to the ballcarrier. A defender - which Hasslebeck was -- cannot cut a blocker below the knees in an attempt to get to the ballcarrier. That is what was called.
That said, it was a very lame call, yes it was by the rules but it was lame. The Cut was incidental, Hasslebeck was NOT trying to get the blocker out of the way, which is the intent of the rule. He dove at Taylor and #26 just happened to barrell over the top of him during the play.
The three Big Penalties called on Seattlke were all TECHNICALLY penalties by a strict interpretation of the rules.
1. Jackson extends his arm and pushes off Taylor in Endzone, a very slight pushoff that probably had no bearing whatsoever on the end result - Taylor was never in position to break up the pass. But, that is called almost every single time it happens, and it is the rule.
2. Holding on pass to 1 yd line. Again a strict interpretation shows that that Lineman "slightly" hooked the right shoulder of the rusher. However, he did not impeded the rusher and the hold had no impact on the play as Hasslebeck was already throwing the ball and the rusher was never going to get to him. But again, It was holding in the strictest sense of the rules.
3. the Cut by Hasslebeck while tackling Taylor. Agian, by the strictest interpretation of the rules it was a penalty.
all 3 calls could have been ignored, but they were technically penalties. So if anything the officials were guilty of calling the game too close.
And only against one team. Don't forget that little morsel.