Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: mcg2000

Yes - questions. He was carrying the ball in his right arm - back in the crook of his elbow. The picture shows his right elbow too far back from the plane of the goal to have the ball cross it.

The picture is unclear. What may be the ball could also be a part of a steeler uniform behind big Ben.

However, I saw no incontrovertible evidence that this particular call was wrong during the game - and therefore cannot state that it should have been overturned. The most damning evidence was the manner in which the line judge made the call - and the "coincidental" timing of Ben moving the ball forward (after hitting the ground) and the switch from the fourth down signal to touchdown.

Questions?


64 posted on 02/08/2006 5:41:26 AM PST by MortMan (Trains stop at train stations. On my desk is a workstation...)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies ]


To: MortMan

Also, the ball broke the plane at the APEX of the dive -- none of the pics posted have that particular instance.

So do you deniers need a lesson in the NFL rules or Euclidean Geometry?


71 posted on 02/08/2006 5:43:27 AM PST by freedumb2003 (American troops cannot be defeated. American Politicians can.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 64 | View Replies ]

To: MortMan
Actually they do not signal the down until after they have spotted the ball for the next play. All the raised arm indicates is "The play is over, I HAVE THE SPOT".

That said, I hardly ever remember seeing a referee raise his arm to call the spot before signalling a touchdown -- they always just signal touchdown.

So in that sense it does lead one to believe he was moving to spot the ball, and can lead to the interpretation that he did not call the TD until he saw the ball laying in the Endzone.

Also, let me clear up some earlier statements -- I know I have been arguing that the ball crossed the plane -- I personally believe it did. However, the photos shown on this thread and even watching it live it is truly inclonclusive -- a person will see what they see, and then will defend that position, especially on a play that is so inconclusive. If the Ref had spotted the ball at the one inch line, I would have upheld the call if I were the reviewer. Just as I would have upheld the call of a TD if I were the reviewer. You just honestly cannot tell, so whatever the Ref on the field calls is going to stand.

The problem then arises in the Refs mixed signals and slow call of the play.

95 posted on 02/08/2006 6:09:08 AM PST by commish (Freedom Tastes Sweetest to Those Who Have Fought to Preserve It)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 64 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson