Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: Domandred

If they didn’t play 18 its not an ace under USGA rules.

And this whole - come on it’s a kid give him a break - stuff...
Bullhockey - that’s the attitude that is ruining our society.
It is NOT jealousy on my part - he can score it a 1 on the card - fine - but propping up a kid for using a club unfit for the whole and letting him hit from the ladies tees is not teaching him golf and its not teaching him life.


12 posted on 08/07/2008 10:55:34 AM PDT by BlueNgold (... Feed the tree!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 11 | View Replies ]


To: BlueNgold

And I take great pleasure in correcting your WHOLE to hole!

bah humbug to you


13 posted on 08/07/2008 11:04:52 AM PDT by Carley
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 12 | View Replies ]

To: BlueNgold
Who peed in your cornflakes?

Not getting laid?

14 posted on 08/07/2008 11:16:10 AM PDT by JackDanielsOldNo7 (On guard until the seal is broken)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 12 | View Replies ]

To: BlueNgold
is not teaching him golf and its not teaching him life.

Well just hunt him down and beat him with a stick. That's how you learn about life!

Or maybe he was just out having fun and doesn't need an uptight rules monger to teach him how to behave like an 11 year old.

16 posted on 08/07/2008 11:28:38 AM PDT by Anitius Severinus Boethius
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 12 | View Replies ]

To: BlueNgold
If they didn’t play 18 its not an ace under USGA rules.

So an ace played on 9 holes doesn't count? Wrong. USGA considers it a hole in one if played at least 9 holes.

You are assuming that they only played one hole, but in the article we find that it was at the sixth hole, meaning there were only 3 left till the ninth.

The people playing in front of them got back to the club house before the kids did. You saying those guys quit at the sixth hole as well?

Mandan Municipal Golf Course is only a 9 hole course, so by your 18 hole flawed thinking no holes in one on that course can ever be counted, unless the course is played twice around.

but propping up a kid for using a club unfit for the whole

Unfit for the hole? What the hell is this crap? Doesn't ever say that you must use a 5 iron for a 150 yard par 3. They were off the tee and the driver got the job done. If the kid can only get 150 yards out of a driver he uses the driver. Kid was using his equipment properly to his ability. Now if he had whacked the ball off the tee with a putter then you might have a valid point.

letting him hit from the ladies tees

Whatever. So women aren't allowed to count holes in one? The kid was 11, of course he's gonna use the ladies tee, or do you insist that in order to count an ace he has to swing from the pro level tee?

It is NOT jealousy on my part

Yea it is.

Can't believe I got sucked into this bickering over golf crap, but now that I got a long post may as well post it.

17 posted on 08/07/2008 11:32:46 AM PDT by Domandred (McCain's 'R' is a typo that has never been corrected)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 12 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson