Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: ml/nj
By your rationale the example, which you cited, of a blocked punt, would be a touchback for the kicking team, yet it is not. Arguing that the guy blocking the punt has no "impetus" on the football, by your reasoning, is disingenuous. He clearly is forcing the ball, by his action, toward the goal line.

The issue here, as in the play this past weekend, is that possession has not been transfered from the offense to the defense. It is clearly an analogous situation. There cannot be a touchback when the defense has no possession of the ball. Despite the action of the defender, no transfer of possession has been established, hence it is a safety.
94 posted on 01/08/2007 7:38:00 PM PST by SoCal Pubbie
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 90 | View Replies ]


To: SoCal Pubbie
By your rationale the example, which you cited, of a blocked punt, would be a touchback for the kicking team, yet it is not.

You wear me out. I said the punter arguably is the one providing the impetus, and just in case anyone is confused the rules make it clear that he is to be considered the one providing the impetus. I never suggested that a blocked punt should result in a touchback.

Go take an English class. I'm done with you.

ML/NJ

95 posted on 01/08/2007 7:54:59 PM PST by ml/nj
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 94 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson