Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: SoCal Pubbie
Why can't you understand such a simple concept?

Maybe I'm not as simple as you are?

ML/NJ

58 posted on 01/08/2007 9:55:20 AM PST by ml/nj
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 56 | View Replies ]


To: ml/nj
No, I think maybe you haven't watched as much football as I have. You obviously don't understand the rules. You also don't understand the implications of your own writing.

I understand that a touchback cannot occur when team defending the end zone in which the ball goes out of bounds last has possession. In that case, it is a safety. I have seen many, many plays over the years where a team fumbles the ball deep in its own territory, and a mad scramble ensues, in which both teams touch the ball, but none gain control. Even if the defensive player last touches the ball, so long as he does not have possession it is a safety.

Now, as for the punt example you cited, under your definition of "impetus" it clearly should be a touchback, yet it is not, as you have cited. Please explain how this is any different than the play in question.
63 posted on 01/08/2007 10:12:17 AM PST by SoCal Pubbie
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 58 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson