Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: kevkrom
Rule 7-4-1(e) states that the runner is considered down by contact when he is "contacted by a defensive player and he touches the ground with any part of his body other than his hands or feet..."

It says nothing about "as a result of contact".

125 posted on 02/06/2006 10:56:05 AM PST by Hatteras
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 89 | View Replies ]


To: Hatteras
Read the rest of the rule (the part left out by the elipses:

e) when a runner is contacted by a defensive player and he touches the ground with any part of his body except his hands or feet, ball shall be declared dead immediately. The contact by the defense player must be the cause of the runner going down.

128 posted on 02/06/2006 11:00:36 AM PST by kevkrom ("...no one has ever successfully waged a war against stupidity" - Orson Scott Card)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 125 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson