So, the receiver could just stand there for, say, 15 seconds, not have the defense come and touch him or attempt to move, have no whistle, then put the ball on the ground, and it's an incomplete pass instead of a fumble?
Funny you should mention that. Steeler's WR Plaxico Burress once made a catch and spiked the ball as he stood up(it was his rookie year, and he forgot that in the Pros you're not down until touched by an opposing player). It was ruled a fumble. This "football move" BS is just that: BS. (And something for woefully inept officials to hide behind.)
According to the rules as read, apparently this would be an incomplete pass.
Which is totally ridiculous.
If the "football move" language was put in place in order to disambiguize a situation where a receiver falls and the ball pops out, it should not have any bearing on a play where the receiver catches, and then gets up with the ball, and then knocks it out himself.
Has anyone seen if this talk of having both knees off the ground is actually in the rule book or is it something the refs made up on the spot?
SD