Skip to comments.Arizona constitutional carry law passed and awaiting Governor Brewer's signature
Posted on 04/15/2010 8:57:14 AM PDT by marktwain
A bill that would eliminate the requirement for Arizona residents to have a permit in order to carry a concealed weapon in Arizona has passed both houses of the Arizona Legislature and is awaiting Governor Jan Brewer's signature before it becomes law. If signed by the governor, the new law would take effect 90 days after the close of the current legislative session. Since the session usually ends in late June, this would mean the law would actually take effect sometime in late September.
Arizona's Senate Bill 1102 makes sweeping changes to the current law that requires an Arizona resident to possess a concealed carry permit in order to carry a concealed firearm. Arizona has traditionally been what is described as an "Open Carry" state where citizens may carry a firearm openly anywhere it is legal to have a firearm.
In order to carry concealed in those same places, residents needed to have a "CCW permit" which was obtained by taking an 8 hour training course, qualifying with a firearm and passing a criminal background check. This law would eliminate the permit requirement but not the permit program.
The key element in the new law is that a concealed carry permit is not necessary "unless required by any other law". For example, to carry a concealed firearm in a restaurant, Arizona law requires that you have a concealed weapons permit. Similarly, federal law requires a state issued permit if you wish to carry concealed in a national park. Anyone wishing to carry a concealed firearm in another state will need an Arizona CCW permit in order to have reciprocal privileges outside of Arizona.
(Excerpt) Read more at examiner.com ...
Fortunately, the above is not correct. Federal law simply says that state laws apply in the state the parks are in. If Arizona does not require a permit, a permit is not required in the Federal parks that are in Arizona.
Arizona’s crime rate will drop precipitously.
My reading of the AZ constitution suggests that if she neither signs nor vetos it by next Monday, it becomes law.
Is that your understanding?
I understand that if she does not veto it by Saturday night, it will become law. As Sunday doesn’t count, we are saying essentially the same thing.
I saw the “five days” part and the “not counting Sunday” part, but didn’t realize Saturday counted.
Correct. We don’t have a pocket veto, but a “pocket signature”. If she does nothing by end of business Saturday, it becomes law.
Also, the effective date of the law would be 90 days after the legislature adjourns for the year, which is typically in late June.
Bad Guys look out ! Not so easy pickens any more.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.