The writer tells you, “If you believe in America, then download your data via their download option (pics and everything), and DELETE, not de-activate your account today.”
What happens if you de-activate your account?
If you deactivate your account it is automatically deleted after 30 days. I shut mine down a month ago by doing this. There is no option to straight-up delete your account. The FB crew’s probably figuring that a sizable number of folks who deactivate their accounts will miss FB enough to reactivate within the 30 day window.