Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Worst to first: Virginia takes down Texas Tech in OT for title
tampabay.com ^

Posted on 04/08/2019 10:10:33 PM PDT by Conserv

click here to read article


Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first previous 1-2021-30 last
To: DesertRhino
And great assists from the officials. That slapped ball call was wrong. And nice for Virginia to get a dozen or so free throws in the last free minutes. Not to mention officials made a bad call and virgina should not have won the playoff gsme

In almost any close game, there are going to be a couple of controversial calls. What made these calls important is that Virginia cashed in the opportunities. It has been a long time since I have seen such a methodical team in pressure situations. That was a cool level-headed bunch.

The slapped ball call was correct.

Virginia shot all those free throws in OT because they were in the bonus and TT was fouling trying to get the ball back.

The double-dribble call was missed but it wasn't that obvious. On the post-game, it was stated that the none of the game announcers or the studio analysts spotted the double-dribble in real time.

21 posted on 04/09/2019 8:18:01 AM PDT by CommerceComet (Hillary: A unique blend of arrogance, incompetence, and corruption.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 5 | View Replies]

To: srmorton

No, at the end of the semi-final, the 3 pt shot foul was legitimate. And on the double-dribble, the Auburn guy grabbed the UVA guy’s jersey. Also not called.


22 posted on 04/09/2019 8:19:43 AM PDT by MrChips ("To wisdom belongs the apprehension of eternal things." - St. Augustin, and I have never heard Booc)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 8 | View Replies]

To: ghost of nixon

“100% of the time that type of poke-away goes back to the offensive team. Easy call - no one complains.”

In this case, though, the replay overturned the call on the court (which requires a higher standard of evidence) and the possession went to the defensive team (Virginia). It was a huge call, and contributed in a big way to Virginia’s eventual victory.


23 posted on 04/09/2019 8:20:48 AM PDT by riverdawg
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 20 | View Replies]

To: ghost of nixon
100% of the time that type of poke-away goes back to the offensive team. Easy call - no one complains.

It is a call of convenience and made because there is generally no other evidence. However, the rules of basketball determine who gets possession based on who touched it last in bounds. If a dribbler gets the ball poked away and it hits his hand (or his jersey or his leg) on the way out of bounds and the official sees it, the ball would go to the defense. It is just that the official is probably not going to see it go off his dribbling hand because it happens too fast but replay with slow motion can capture that. It was too bad for Texas Tech that this play happened in that window of time that allowed for replay review. Bottom line is the officials got the call right.

but not analyse whether either of the two defenders grazed the ball-handler and committed a foul.

As it should be. You don't want ticky-tack fouls called via replay. Lots of fouls are committed that are not called because although technically fouls, they have no real impact on the game. You have to let them play and let the officials sort out what they are going to call and what they are going to let slide. The players will adjust as long as the foul-calling is consistent.

24 posted on 04/09/2019 9:16:43 AM PDT by CommerceComet (Hillary: A unique blend of arrogance, incompetence, and corruption.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 20 | View Replies]

To: Conserv
Wahoo-wah !

(My daughter and son in-law were there.)

ML/NJ

25 posted on 04/09/2019 9:57:41 AM PDT by ml/nj
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: CommerceComet

if I had “reviewed” the play, I would have ruled “too big of an advantage given to the defensive team for a poke/swipe at the basketball where a foul also could have been called on either of the two defensive players - ball goes back to T-Tech. Play on!


26 posted on 04/09/2019 11:35:18 AM PDT by ghost of nixon
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 24 | View Replies]

To: Conserv

Virginia is the “most barely winning” team I can remember ever winning. So many close calls and last-second scores.

I watched the 1st 5 minutes of the game (maybe 4, I watched until the first “mandatory commercial break”. At that point in the game, there had been ONE basket, and 3 free throws.

I couldn’t imagine watching an entire game where they only scored a dozen times. And this with a shot clock.

Eh.


27 posted on 04/09/2019 12:02:21 PM PDT by CharlesWayneCT
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: MrChips

I said in my post that he was fouled and nobody even noticed the double dribble until after the game when the announcers were discussing the play. If the Tech player did grab the jersey of the UVA player and it had been called, it would have stopped play and Virginia would have had to put the ball back in play on the side which would have taken time off the clock and the final shot may have never been taken. Don’t get me wrong, I am an ACC fan and I really like the UVA coach, but UVA did get a few lucky breaks throughout their run to the championship!


28 posted on 04/09/2019 1:36:21 PM PDT by srmorton (Deut. 30 19: "..I have set before you life and death,....therefore, choose life..")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 22 | View Replies]

To: ghost of nixon
where a foul also could have been called on either of the two defensive players

On Guy maybe. However, those types of touch fouls are seldom called in scramble situations. When did Hunter commit a foul? He didn't touch Moretti until after the ball was slapped loose and even then it was Moretti who reached out and made contact with Hunter. The poke-away was clean as it could be.

If you had responded to your fellow officials in that manner, you would have been reminded that replay cannot used to call fouls. If it wasn't called on the court, they weren't fouls - you can't make electronic make-up calls. Your only job is to determine who touched the ball last. The videos indicate that Moretti's hand was on the ball after Hunter's. By rule, you have to give it Virginia.

If an official had noticed that the flight of the ball deflects slightly as Moretti's hand comes down and had ruled UVa ball immediately, most people would have said that he missed that one. That is until they saw the replay and then they would have said that official had some sharp eyes.

29 posted on 04/12/2019 10:33:57 AM PDT by CommerceComet (Hillary: A unique blend of arrogance, incompetence, and corruption.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 26 | View Replies]

To: CommerceComet

you made my point - I wouldn’t have called a foul - but I also wouldn’t have squinted hard enough to see the pinky finger brushing the ball...wink, wink


30 posted on 04/12/2019 11:37:47 AM PDT by ghost of nixon
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 29 | View Replies]


Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first previous 1-2021-30 last

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson