Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: noexcuses

Right. The rules committee told him after he got off 18 that they reviewed his drop and it was legal.

************

Where are you getting that info. No where have I seen they talked to him after the round and before his signing his card. The committee reviewed the tapes while Woods was playing the 18th and made a decision everything was okay and that didn’t require meeting with Woods.

It was only after turning in the scorecard and while in his interview with the media that he indicated he dropped some two yards behind his original lie. After hearing that the rules committee began another review and met with Woods this morning.

Or that is my understanding.


53 posted on 04/13/2013 8:43:58 AM PDT by deport
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 50 | View Replies ]


To: deport

sounds like Woods definitely dropped too far back
(not trying to break the rules just doing the wrong thing)
but the committee reviewed video evidence before he finished and decided the drop was “eh, close enough”.
but then they hear him describe his intent on TV
and at this point the assess a penalty?

so he’s getting punished for TRYING to violate a rule that the committee already decided he didn’t violate.


54 posted on 04/13/2013 8:53:45 AM PDT by fnord (My life is like the movie Willard, except with hummingbirds)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 53 | View Replies ]

To: deport
From the rules committee explanation of their ruling:

In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.

After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played farther from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.

56 posted on 04/13/2013 8:55:33 AM PDT by noexcuses
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 53 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson