I end up on their site all the time because of stuff forwarded by friends. Yes, they have a stupid popup system. If you look in the upper right quadrant of their page, there is an X in a circle. That actually appears before the popup, and you can kill the popup by clicking there.
I did that and then the other popup came.
I reconfigure Malwarebytes back to my original settings.
Won’t happen again.