Posted on 09/18/2006 4:29:08 PM PDT by MikefromOhio
NORMAN, Okla. -- The Pacific-10 Conference suspended for one game the officiating crew and the instant replay officials that worked Saturday's Oklahoma-Oregon football game after finding mistakes were made in calls near the end of the contest.
Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen said Monday that a review by conference officials of video of the game revealed that both the instant replay officials and the game officials assigned by the conference made errors in the final minute and 12 seconds of the game.
Oklahoma lost the game 34-33 after Oregon scored two touchdowns near the end of the game.
An onside kick by Oregon after its first late touchdown was touched by a Ducks player before it traveled the required 10 yards, and the Pac-10 ruled that the ball should have been awarded to Oklahoma. The league also said that video revealed that an Oklahoma player actually recovered the ball.
Officials on the field gave the ball to Oregon, and replay officials did not overturn that decision.
During a subsequent play, pass interference was called on Oklahoma, setting up the winning score. The Sooners argued that the ball had been tipped at the line of scrimmage, thereby nullifying the pass interference call.
Replay officials did not see indisputable evidence to overturn the penalty.
(Excerpt) Read more at sports.espn.go.com ...
I tuned in on that game in the last few minutes. I have no particular reason to favor either team so I watched totally objective. The onside kick ruling was clearly a bogus call that changed the outcome of the game.
Yes, and USC vs. Arkansas was played in Fayeteville, Arkansas.
I wonder why?
Yes, it has been a problem.
I recall a horrible call in the Fiesta Bowl almost 4 yrs ago where the official called pass interference about 10 seconds after the game ended.
Play the game long enough, and every team is going to get the shaft.
Nothing new here.
After missing a mugging of Ben Hartsock during the 4th Quarter that would have allowed Ohio State to run out the clock...
same official too IIRC.
I wonder why?
To throw a bone to the whining OU fans?
I got pinged to this post below and replied with what Boren asked for in the post following it:
http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-chat/1701050/posts?page=595#595
What else I have to say will be better said tomorrow on Pirate Talk Day. Arrrr!
That sounds about right.
Officials get caught red-handed jobbing someone and instead of being punished for the theft they are slapped on the wrist to appease the victim and make the whole thing go away. So they can plunder again in 2 weeks.
No way they can reverse the result of the game. That said, while we're at it NoCurrentFreeperByThatName, why don't we just tell everyone on the board to quit their whining in general? Media bias, degradation of moral standards, communism. We should all just get over it.
Just read a blurb where one of the officials is quitting his job. He has been receiving death threats.
Meanwhile, the books remain stacked in the library.
How's this:
Free Kick Recov e ry
A RTICLE 3. ATeam Aplayer may touch a free-kicked ball:
a . After it touches a Team B player (E x c e p t i o n s : Rules 6-1-2-g and 6-1-4).
b . After it breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B?s re s t r a i n i n g
line (E x c e p t i o n : Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-11 - 2 - I ) .
c . After it touches any player, the ground or an official beyond Team B?s
restraining line.
T h e re aft er, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or
catch the kick (E x c e p t i o n : Rule 6-1-2-g). Illegal touching of a free kick is a
violation that, when the ball becomes dead, gives the receiving team the
privilege of taking the ball at the spot of the violation. However, if there are
o ffsetting fouls or if a penalty incurred by either team before the ball
becomes dead is enforced, this privilege is canceled (A.R. 6-1-3-I).
How's this:
Free Kick Recov e ry
A RTICLE 3. ATeam Aplayer may touch a free-kicked ball:
a . After it touches a Team B player (E x c e p t i o n s : Rules 6-1-2-g and 6-1-4).
b . After it breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B?s re s t r a i n i n g
line (E x c e p t i o n : Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-11 - 2 - I ) .
c . After it touches any player, the ground or an official beyond Team B?s
restraining line.
T h e re aft er, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or
catch the kick (E x c e p t i o n : Rule 6-1-2-g). Illegal touching of a free kick is a
violation that, when the ball becomes dead, gives the receiving team the
privilege of taking the ball at the spot of the violation. However, if there are
o ffsetting fouls or if a penalty incurred by either team before the ball
becomes dead is enforced, this privilege is canceled (A.R. 6-1-3-I).
There is more than a little bit of difference between the things you listed and a stupid college football game. It ain't the first time this kind of thing has happened and it won't be the last. So yeah, get over it.
Notre Dame is the affirmative action equivalent of university football teams. They get a place at the table whether they deserve it or not.
The BCS, NCAA, and the sports media needs to evaluate ND for what they are as opposed to what they were.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.