Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: highlander_UW
Hasselbeck hit Darrell Jackson with an apparent 16-yard scoring pass in the first quarter, but the play came back when Jackson was called for offensive pass interference. It was a touch foul. Jackson extended his arm, yes, but both players were fighting for position, and he didn't create any separation by doing so. It was like a referee calling a hand-check in a key moment of Game 7 of the NBA Finals.

Yup, couldn't believe that call.

25 posted on 02/06/2006 9:12:15 AM PST by DouglasKC
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies ]


To: DouglasKC
It was like a referee calling a hand-check in a key moment of Game 7 of the NBA Finals.

Let's compare basketball to football as to make the whole argument ridiculous. Plain Dumb. The Ref was standing right there!

30 posted on 02/06/2006 9:13:54 AM PST by frogjerk (LIBERALISM: The perpetual insulting of common sense.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 25 | View Replies ]

To: DouglasKC
Hasselbeck hit Darrell Jackson with an apparent 16-yard scoring pass in the first quarter, but the play came back when Jackson was called for offensive pass interference. It was a touch foul. Jackson extended his arm, yes, but both players were fighting for position, and he didn't create any separation by doing so. It was like a referee calling a hand-check in a key moment of Game 7 of the NBA Finals.

Yup, couldn't believe that call.

Several weeks ago, the Bus scored a touchdown but the REFEREES called a penalty. The Steelers quit and cried foul and walked off the field. Wrong? OH, Ben then threw a TOUCHDOWN pass on the next play. Great teams overcome adversity. Losers bitch and moan. HAVE A LITTLE:


65 posted on 02/06/2006 9:33:56 AM PST by USS Alaska (Nuke the terrorist savages - In Honor of Standing Wolf)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 25 | View Replies ]

To: DouglasKC

Jackson did not extend his arm. He pushed off to gain and advantage in getting to the ball at the expense of the defender.

You can't get separation that way...you have to create it with your own move. Good call in a bad situation. It would not have been as big a deal if were in the middle of the field for a first down...but still a flag to throw.


168 posted on 02/06/2006 12:17:31 PM PST by joyspring777
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 25 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson