Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: bobby.223; whence911

I should note the “bobble” is only being mentioned as a possible explanation for Joyce’s bad call. Joyce did not call a bobble. I don’t even know if that sort of situation (the ball moving within the glove) is defined in the rulebook, but again it’s of no relevance.


132 posted on 06/02/2010 8:09:05 PM PDT by flintsilver7 (Honest reporting hasn't caught on in the United States.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 131 | View Replies ]


To: flintsilver7

It should be noted that the bobble was mentioned in the spirt of getting the play right and not to cover for the umpire. You turned out to be a guesser after all. And yes it IS defined in the rule book. You had a good discussion going until you decided to cast aspersions. Good-bye.


133 posted on 06/02/2010 8:11:34 PM PDT by whence911 (Here illegally? Go home. Get in line!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 132 | View Replies ]

To: flintsilver7

oh my yes it is in the MLB Rule Book Flint.. the ball in the receiving fielders glove HAS to be secure at the time of the called safe or called out determination by the arbitrator either at the sacks or the dish. it has been that way since, well, before I started to follow the game for sure....and that was a bit ago. if those long time rules have been modified... I am not up to speed then I guess.


136 posted on 06/02/2010 8:23:13 PM PDT by bobby.223
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 132 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson