Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: flintsilver7

If the ball bobbled, bounced or whatever in the pocket, which is what I saw, the player did not have control of the throw and the catch was not made until the ball was caught after the bobbled and the ball was securely in the glove. A bobble or bounce in the gooce is no control. Basic rule Definition of a catch.


126 posted on 06/02/2010 7:48:02 PM PDT by whence911 (Here illegally? Go home. Get in line!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 125 | View Replies ]


To: whence911

Then the questions are: did the pitcher have control of the ball (after the bobble) and his foot on the base at the same time? Did the pitcher have control and his foot on the base before the runner touched the base? I need a frame by frame on this.


127 posted on 06/02/2010 7:49:34 PM PDT by whence911 (Here illegally? Go home. Get in line!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 126 | View Replies ]

To: whence911

you are correct BUT the bobble was controlled before the runners foot tapped the bag.


128 posted on 06/02/2010 7:50:43 PM PDT by bobby.223
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 126 | View Replies ]

To: whence911

I think the general rule would be that when the ball is finally secure, the catch is made. This is ultimately irrelevant, though, as like I said the ball was secure long before Donald reached the bag.


130 posted on 06/02/2010 7:53:53 PM PDT by flintsilver7 (Honest reporting hasn't caught on in the United States.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 126 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson