Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: lepton

The rule says that should the defensive back, through his impetus, would cause the receiver to land out of bounds the catch is ruled complete.


183 posted on 10/14/2007 3:55:13 PM PDT by Young Werther (Julius Caesar (Quae Cum Ita Sunt. Since these things are so.))
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 176 | View Replies ]


To: Young Werther

End of third quarter, 31-28 Pats.


184 posted on 10/14/2007 4:01:02 PM PDT by darkangel82 (All right! Let's go Tribe!!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 183 | View Replies ]

To: Young Werther

Yes, that’s what it says. It also doesn’t address what I said, except to the extent that it makes it plausible for the referee to rule that TO was pushed out.

The problem was that for where TO came down, he could have gotten both feet down...but didn’t because he took a long step. He wasn’t deprived of the opportunity to land in bounds, he was made unable to keep his balance and stepped out.


188 posted on 10/14/2007 4:07:01 PM PDT by lepton ("It is useless to attempt to reason a man out of a thing he was never reasoned into"--Jonathan Swift)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 183 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson