The first ruling was incorrect in the entire process. It wasn't a completed pass. Nothing after that should have counted.
The refs also blew the call on the ball spot on the other end of the field. They weren't right when they originally put it at the 1/2 yard line but they were equally wrong the other direction where the put it at the 1 1/2 yard line after the review. It should have been on the 1 yard line which would have been a first down.
He was at least a foot short of the one. Maybe a little more, but not quite as short as the refs put it. The second spot was certainly far closer than the first spot.