Posted on 12/31/2007 5:33:59 AM PST by mtbopfuyn
Just a quick update. Woo hoo! Happy dance! Hurdled through the cuts and reached THE BIG TA-DAH! Thanks.
Ah, but what success rate does a person have in a event? Just entering both doesn’t indicate a person will do well enough to place 1-2-3 or 4 in either.
(I had this happen in HS math competitions. Was “good enough” to do well and get trophies in the quick, 1/2 hour slide rule competitions at the “novice” level, but not good enough to get even top five routinely at the “veteran” level.
Cross-competed in a 3-hour science test, and did very well against the same people who were beating me in slide rule. I did well in long events, they did much, much better in “sprint” events.
So, don’t look at averages, look at “top performance” in the two events. The guy (or girl) who can get 1 or 2 place vice the guy who who “might make 3-4 is the better bet, since they aren’t allowing double entries.
Good deal!
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.