Skip to comments.Woods Penalized but Can Still Play
Posted on 04/13/2013 10:20:07 AM PDT by Perdogg
Tiger Woods was three strokes off the lead in the Masters when he completed the second round at Augusta National Golf Club on Friday. But he began his third round five strokes behind the leader Jason Day after being assessed a two-stroke penalty on Saturday for an illegal drop on the 15th hole of the second round.
(Excerpt) Read more at nytimes.com ...
The money just keeps rolling in.....
Affirmative action golf?
They had to meet first with Woods to ask permission to penalize him. That’s why the decision was only announced this morning.
If he was a man, he would DQ himself.
What’s an “illegal drop”? I’m new to bowling.
Bobby Jones is spinning in his grave.
Does this mean Roberto de Vicenzo gets a green jacket?
If there is a penalty, then he signed an incorrect scorecard. He’s disqualified.
Tiger admitted that he backed it up a couple of yards so he could hit it better. He backed it up to get an advantage. No way he shouldn’t be disqualified.
Officials are explaining it all right now. They have the last word.
The rules say that in his situation, he was supposed to drop “as near as possible” to his original divot. He admitted that the area was too wet and he dropped two yards back. This establishes that he intended to use the drop to gain a better lie.
Affirmative action golf?
Actually, I’m waiting for the Liberal angle here saying that the only players penalized in this year’s Masters, run by lily-white racists, were against non-whites.
Wait for it - it will come from somewhere. It will get some legs. And it won’t go away anytime soon.
Why so gentle? Let’s have him strung up and flayed alive, after all he hasn’t been so good in his personal life.
...began his third round five strokes behind the leader Jason Day after being assessed a two-stroke penalty on Saturday for an illegal drop on the 15th hole of the second round.
They may have the last official word, but I tend to believe that if Tiger remains in the tournament he will eventually come to regret it. This will be discussed for years.
It’s a shame I have no respect I could lose for Tiger.
Not to mention the weasels that run the Masters. To think this was the same bunch that ten years ago had the innards to defy the NY Times.
Now just PC trash like a bunch of others.
Remember when about 6 goons moved a giant boulder, behind which his ball was sitting, and it was called "a loose impediment" under The Rules, and he was cleared to shoot without the boulder in the way?
He may be a good golfer, but he's no Champion of the Sport like the top golfers who played by the rules, and won anyway, like Nicklaus, Palmer, Player, etc.
Yes he should have been....but Comrade “Rulescommittee” changed the sacred Rules of golf for the benefit of Big Media Golf....
It's a classic example of the current 2nd Amendment debate....(rule of law vs. rule of men...)for the good of the people of course!...../s
Its ironic that the “founding father” of Augusta National, Bobby Jones, understood the integrity of the rules of golf and penalized himself to honor the integrity of the rules/laws http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Jones_(golfer)
IMHO....Tiger should have DQ’d himself...if the rules of golf or the 2nd amendment can be changed for “the good of the people" or "the peoples own good” we eventually end with anarchy
the golf analogy is just a micro view of the bigger picture of the current attack on our Constitution.....
That's my opinion...I welcome yours...
“...he purposely dropped the ball ...” seems like he is doing that a lot lately with various women...
Oh no doubt. If Tiger had white skin they wouldn’t hesitate to DQ him. Their moral weakness has tarnished the tournament. This is how you begin to tear down an institution.
The drop should have been supervised by an official right then and there on the spot. The rules of golf don’t necessarily enforce themselves. Perhaps officials were derelict in their duty to not be on top of the situation in real time. They had to be alerted by some TV viewer well after the fact so, shame on them!
Calls for Tiger to “fall on his sword” seem to be out of some need to see him hurt himself rather than for him to be honorable, which he is anyway.
None of his professional gains have ever been ill-gotten, so what’s the problem? It’s not like he failed a drug test or something...Or is that only excusable when it’s Rush Limbaugh, hmmmm...and don’t get me wrong, I dig Rush like a miner loves gold.
Tiger Woods....the Mike Tyson of Golf.....
Here is a perfect "illegal drop".
If he wins this thing his victory will be tainted and we all know what "taint" is.
From David Duval—
@david59duval: There is some leeway with the signing the incorrect card. Not with intentionally not dropping as near as possible.
@david59duval: I think he should WD. He took a drop to gain an advantage.
I’m with Duval. Tiger has really diminished himself by remaining in the tournament.
They kept him in for TV ratings. IF he had been canned, as he should have, he admitted basically he cheated, the ratings would have gone in the dump. It is important to golf that he plays and is in the tournaments or poor ratings.
There are 2 distinct issues here related to DQ:
1: is knowingly violating the rules, which Nick Faldo and others think he did.
2: signing an incorrect scorecard.
As to 1, this could be valid.
But as to item 2, if you think he should be DQ’d for that, then you are agreeing that you should go to jail for filing a bad tax return, EVEN if you got your ruling from an IRS agent ahead of time. Think about the analogy. He though the ruling was that his drop was okay when he signed the card. I am amazed that so called conservatives would automatically roll to the bureaucratic side on this one.
Duval is basically saying what I said. With regard to the scorecard signing, that is an archaic rule that goes back to the days when golfers where often alone and unseen, even for long stretches, during competition. It’s like having the city of Chicago keeping a union horeshoer on staff.....ridiculous in light of modernity. And golf has addressed that with a new rule softening the scorecard penalty.
As for the drop itself...another thing altogether. But the scorecard issue is absurd today.
Jim Nantz must have got down on his knees and begged Augusta National to appease the network.
The Masters just fell below the John Deere Classic as far as my golf viewership on TV.
You should consider writing as a vocation. :)
I believe he referred to the drop area as being too wet.
It appeared to me that with the fairway sloping towards the pond from his original lay, he would be justified in dropping the ball slightlu uphill, so that when the ball stopped rolling from the drop, it would not be any closer to the green than his original lay/lie(?).
It didn’t appear to me to be 2 yards behind his original divot, but about 2-3 feet, .. ie a club length, and on that fairway, I wouldn’t call him for trying to get a better lay than allowed by the rules.
FWIW, by looking at the replay, he was using his club to move dirt and twigs/debris from around his striking area, which is considered grounding his club. Usually, as a matter of habit, that is only done by hand and not using his club as a rake.
Compare Tigers response with this teenagers:
"I knew right away I couldn't live with myself if I kept this medal, so it was pretty instantaneous," Nash said
You obviously know the rules, and know golf - more than I can say for many commenters on this thread. People go popping off half cocked, don’t know the rules or the nuances of what really happened, and then wonder why outsiders call FR racist, hateful, etc. I’m no Tiger fan positive or negative particularly, but ignorance combined with arrogance is offputting on any topic.
Totally different situations, but thank you for demonstrating your lack of understanding of the rules of the game with the faux analogy.
If he signed the card with the wrong score, the rule is clear. It is a DQ.
If Tiger goes on to have the lowest score, there could be one interesting lawsuit filed by the “runner-up.”
Both players unknowingly signed an incorrect scorecard. So please explain to me with your vast knowledge of the game how these situations are different?
13-2. Improving Lie, Area of Intended Stance or Swing, or Line of Play
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
the position or lie of his ball,
the area of his intended stance or swing,
After Tiger made his drop, he not only was improving the area of swing, he also was using his club to do it. One interpretation says his ball was in the water hazard, prohibiting the action. A more forgiving interpretation is that his already suffered the stroke and distance penalty and was improving the swing area of his new ball lie.
Yes, the NEW rule this year IS clear - that a wrongful scorecard is NO LONGER an automatic DQ. Let me repeat, a wrong scorecard is NO LONGER an automatic DQ. When is it NOT a DQ? It is not a DQ in just this kind of situation, when a ruling is not known by the golfer when he signs his card. In other words, for JUST THIS EXACT SITUATION!!!!!!!!!
This scorecard signing is an outdated rule anyway, going back way before golfers were observed during competition.
Lance Armstrong never failed a drug test either.
Too many clubs, in your bag, for all 18 holes, is not something that is depdendent on a rules review. It is far more cut and dried rule. Having a 15th club can be a huge advantage, though I have no idea if this kid used all 15 or not.
As for the drop, Tiger did get an additional 2 stroke penalty for that. But he was under the impression that the rules committee had okayed his drop interpretation. They ruled differently about the time he finished his round, but had not told him yet when he signed his card. It is not incumbent on players to know that the rules committee have ruled against them.
In fact, the new rule, 33-7, was put in place this year for just this situation, to soften the outdated signing rule under certain circumstances....like THIS one.
Which, actually, is not either of the rules they cited. This was ruled under section 26, and the card mitigated under 33.
Its a shame I have no respect I could lose for Tiger.
This is a simple isssue. He broke a rule. It was well-documented by videotape and by his own admission when in a post round interview he stated he moved the ball back by 2 yds. His ignorance of his breaking the rule at the time of the transgression and when he signed his card is irrelevant. He should be DQ’d. But he cheats in all aspects of his life, so his remaining in the tournament is par for the course. Pun intended.
6-6. Scoring In Stroke Play
a. Recording Scores
After each hole the marker should check the score with the competitor and record it. On completion of the round the marker must sign the score card and hand it to the competitor. If more than one marker records the scores, each must sign for the part for which he is responsible.
b. Signing and Returning Score Card
After completion of the round, the competitor should check his score for each hole and settle any doubtful points with the Committee. He must ensure that the marker or markers have signed the score card, sign the score card himself and return it to the Committee as soon as possible.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 6-6b:
c. Alteration of Score Card
No alteration may be made on a score card after the competitor has returned it to the Committee.
d. Wrong Score for Hole
The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands.
Note 1: The Committee is responsible for the addition of scores and application of the handicap recorded on the score card see Rule 33-5.
Note 2: In four-ball stroke play, see also Rules 31-3 and 31-7a.