Skip to comments.Woods Penalized but Can Still Play
Posted on 04/13/2013 10:20:07 AM PDT by Perdogg
Tiger Woods was three strokes off the lead in the Masters when he completed the second round at Augusta National Golf Club on Friday. But he began his third round five strokes behind the leader Jason Day after being assessed a two-stroke penalty on Saturday for an illegal drop on the 15th hole of the second round.
(Excerpt) Read more at nytimes.com ...
“...he purposely dropped the ball ...” seems like he is doing that a lot lately with various women...
Oh no doubt. If Tiger had white skin they wouldn’t hesitate to DQ him. Their moral weakness has tarnished the tournament. This is how you begin to tear down an institution.
The drop should have been supervised by an official right then and there on the spot. The rules of golf don’t necessarily enforce themselves. Perhaps officials were derelict in their duty to not be on top of the situation in real time. They had to be alerted by some TV viewer well after the fact so, shame on them!
Calls for Tiger to “fall on his sword” seem to be out of some need to see him hurt himself rather than for him to be honorable, which he is anyway.
None of his professional gains have ever been ill-gotten, so what’s the problem? It’s not like he failed a drug test or something...Or is that only excusable when it’s Rush Limbaugh, hmmmm...and don’t get me wrong, I dig Rush like a miner loves gold.
Tiger Woods....the Mike Tyson of Golf.....
Here is a perfect "illegal drop".
If he wins this thing his victory will be tainted and we all know what "taint" is.
From David Duval—
@david59duval: There is some leeway with the signing the incorrect card. Not with intentionally not dropping as near as possible.
@david59duval: I think he should WD. He took a drop to gain an advantage.
I’m with Duval. Tiger has really diminished himself by remaining in the tournament.
They kept him in for TV ratings. IF he had been canned, as he should have, he admitted basically he cheated, the ratings would have gone in the dump. It is important to golf that he plays and is in the tournaments or poor ratings.
There are 2 distinct issues here related to DQ:
1: is knowingly violating the rules, which Nick Faldo and others think he did.
2: signing an incorrect scorecard.
As to 1, this could be valid.
But as to item 2, if you think he should be DQ’d for that, then you are agreeing that you should go to jail for filing a bad tax return, EVEN if you got your ruling from an IRS agent ahead of time. Think about the analogy. He though the ruling was that his drop was okay when he signed the card. I am amazed that so called conservatives would automatically roll to the bureaucratic side on this one.
Duval is basically saying what I said. With regard to the scorecard signing, that is an archaic rule that goes back to the days when golfers where often alone and unseen, even for long stretches, during competition. It’s like having the city of Chicago keeping a union horeshoer on staff.....ridiculous in light of modernity. And golf has addressed that with a new rule softening the scorecard penalty.
As for the drop itself...another thing altogether. But the scorecard issue is absurd today.
Jim Nantz must have got down on his knees and begged Augusta National to appease the network.
The Masters just fell below the John Deere Classic as far as my golf viewership on TV.
You should consider writing as a vocation. :)
I believe he referred to the drop area as being too wet.
It appeared to me that with the fairway sloping towards the pond from his original lay, he would be justified in dropping the ball slightlu uphill, so that when the ball stopped rolling from the drop, it would not be any closer to the green than his original lay/lie(?).
It didn’t appear to me to be 2 yards behind his original divot, but about 2-3 feet, .. ie a club length, and on that fairway, I wouldn’t call him for trying to get a better lay than allowed by the rules.
FWIW, by looking at the replay, he was using his club to move dirt and twigs/debris from around his striking area, which is considered grounding his club. Usually, as a matter of habit, that is only done by hand and not using his club as a rake.
Compare Tigers response with this teenagers:
"I knew right away I couldn't live with myself if I kept this medal, so it was pretty instantaneous," Nash said
You obviously know the rules, and know golf - more than I can say for many commenters on this thread. People go popping off half cocked, don’t know the rules or the nuances of what really happened, and then wonder why outsiders call FR racist, hateful, etc. I’m no Tiger fan positive or negative particularly, but ignorance combined with arrogance is offputting on any topic.
Totally different situations, but thank you for demonstrating your lack of understanding of the rules of the game with the faux analogy.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.