I think the 2 stroke penalty is fair - that is what he would have gotten if they told him at 18 that he had incurred a penalty. He would have then dropped the 2 strokes from his score and signed for the -1.
Right. The rules committee told him after he got off 18 that they reviewed his drop and it was legal.
Where are you getting that info. No where have I seen they talked to him after the round and before his signing his card. The committee reviewed the tapes while Woods was playing the 18th and made a decision everything was okay and that didn’t require meeting with Woods.
It was only after turning in the scorecard and while in his interview with the media that he indicated he dropped some two yards behind his original lie. After hearing that the rules committee began another review and met with Woods this morning.
Or that is my understanding.
There is some confusion. Now they’re saying he wasn’t advised by the committee before he signed the score card. It’s Tiger... he’ll have a different set of rules and expectations.