Free Republic
Browse · Search
News/Activism
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

A Response to Ann Coulter’s call to War
self ^ | 18 Sept 01 | self

Posted on 09/18/2001 10:10:00 AM PDT by Heuristic Hiker

I love Barbara Olson and I love Ann. In Ann's last column (http://www.freerepublic.com/forum/a3ba0ba347497.htm) Ann expressed concisely how we all feeling about the lost of Barbara. This is a great evil that has come upon our land…but it is also possible to bring greater evil into the world if caution and patience is not exercised in redressing this diabolical threat. There is no doubt that we are at war, but we don’t have to wage the war that bin Laden wants. He wants a crusade against him…and he may get it…but I would argue for some initial responses which would actually be more harmful to him and his cause. I’m a graduate student of Middle East history who spent last year on a fellowship to Israel. I’m not claiming this makes me an expert on what has gone on, but I do think I can offer some legitimate arguments for exercising some patience. Below are some of Ann’s statements from the later part of her essay. I agree with her goals, but as I will out line in my essay which follows, I believe there are some better options than the “kill them all” response:

Apart from hearing that this beautiful light has been extinguished from the world, only one other news flash broke beyond the numbingly omnipresent horror of the entire day. That evening, CNN reported that bombs were dropping in Afghanistan (news - web sites) -- and then updated the report to say they weren't our bombs.

They should have been ours. I want them to be ours. This is no time to be precious about locating the exact individuals directly involved in this particular terrorist attack. Those responsible include anyone anywhere in the world who smiled in response to the annihilation of patriots like Barbara Olson.