Fired, forever banned from being LEO, how’s that?
Yeah, but he feels real bad about it. Isn't that enough punishment?
Must be nice to be able to commit felonies, yet get off with 3-years probation.
I wonder if the cops and DA in TN would be as easy on ordinary citizens? (</rhetorical>)
A person can be prosecuted for false reports under three different theories under Tennessee law. In Tennessee, it is unlawful for any person to:
Initiate a report or statement to a law enforcement officer concerning an offense or incident within the officer's concern knowing that: 1) the offense or incident reported did not occur; 2) the person has no information relating to the offense or incident reported; or 3) the information relating to the offense reported is false; or
Make a report or statement in response to a legitimate inquiry by a law enforcement officer concerning a material fact about an offense or incident within the officer's concern, knowing that the report or statement is false and with the intent to obstruct or hinder the officer from: 1) preventing the offense or incident from occurring or continuing to occur; or 2) apprehending or locating another person suspected of committing an offense; or
Intentionally initiate or circulate a report of a past, present, or impending bombing, fire or other emergency, knowing that the report is false or baseless and knowing: 1) it will cause action of any sort by an official or volunteer agency organized to deal with those emergencies; 2) it will place a person in fear of imminent serious bodily injury; or 3) it will prevent or interrupt the occupation of any building, place of assembly, form of conveyance, or any other place to which the public has access. Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-16-502 (2008).
The penalties for false reports in Tennessee are substantial. A violation under the first two bullets above is a Class D felony. A violation of the last bullet above is a Class C felony.
Class D Felony - Not less than two (2) years nor more than twelve (12) years in prison. In addition, the jury may assess a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), unless otherwise provided by statute