Skip to comments.The refs are blind! No really – Outback Bowl officials make a terrible call on a first down.
Posted on 01/02/2013 8:24:42 AM PST by BO Stinkss
Fans argue all the time that a referee missed a call, but those arguments are usually subjective. The holding call that killed the drive might have been ticky-tack, but it wasn't black and white that it was a missed call. The pass interference that set up the game-winning touchdown wasn't just a phantom call - it might have been a tough call but it was debatable. You very rarely see a football official flat out miss a call. A fourth-quarter call in the Outback Bowl was black and white. There really can be no debate. It was a blown call like we've never seen a blown call. All the officials had to do was measure for a first down, and they got that wrong. Michigan ran a fake punt with a little more than eight minutes left in the fourth quarter, and the Wolverines made it close to the first down. Close enough for a measurement. The sticks were extended and the ball was inches short of the first down. And the referee confidently pointed a first down for ... Michigan? The South Carolina sideline erupted in protest. Coach Steve Spurrier jumped on the field right next to the ball and started pointing out the error. The call stood, even though ESPN's camera angles made it very clear that the call was wrong and the ball was short of the first-down marker. A second angle from ESPN, which it showed after a commercial break, showed that the ball was clearly a couple inches short. The refs flat out made the wrong call. It wasn't like this was a judgment call. They gave a first down to a team that didn't pass the sticks.
(Excerpt) Read more at sports.yahoo.com ...
Nothing like making a game more exciting, maybe the refs get paid for that type of thing.
Tell me, who won and did this decision change that?
one of the worst calls ever...
Right up there with:
Colorado 5 downs - 1990
Field goal call in sun bowl for USC - called it ‘good’ when clearly outside the post (corrected by reply booth). The ref was also right in position to see the ball pass 3 feet wide, but raised his hands for the score.
Jadeveon Clowney righted that wrong on the very next play! South Carolina went on to win.
That had to be one of the best defensive plays I’ve ever seen. Especially given the circumstances.
It makes you think that refs are just no better than politicians.
The ref pointing to first down should have been fired today, and the other two refs watching him do it also due to incompetence.
I have always thought the refs should just make the call on the field without a measurement. After all the placement could easily be a foot or so off.
They place the ball based on their best guess then measure when what they are measuring is based on rough estimate to start with.
Also if the chains are not exactly 90 degree, the chains will always be a little shorter than 10 yards.
I am glad that SC won anyway.
The next play (Clowney’s huge hit) no-call was even worse. That’s a by-rule call, not a judgment.
The next play (Clowney’s huge hit) no-call was even worse. That’s a by-rule call, not a judgment.
If you knew how the measurement is taken, you would know the measurement was correct. The stick is not part of the 10 yards, and neither is the eye bolt.
The chain is 10 yards. Everything else attached to the chain is just to make the measurement easier.
You see that even Spurrier was looking at where the chain was connected to the eye bolt.
I’ve seen some hits this year but nothing like that. One end of the bar at my VFW was Michigan State, the other SC. We did get a little rowdy when the poor fellows helmet went flying.
Thought it was one of the worst calls I’ve ever seen and I hate the Gamecocks. But Coach Superior is lucky he didn’t get a flag for him and the team crowding the refs. FSU’s Jimbo got a 15 yarder for a heck of a lot less.
Reminds me of the old saying about Strategic Air Command... Measure with a micrometer, mark with grease pencil & cut with fire axe.
That is correct. If Homer on the chain gang is going to cheat, he will do it when he attaches the clip to the chain at the nearest yard marker.
That’s simply not true. 10 yards goes from outside of stick to outside of stick. If any of the ball is past the stick it’s a 1st down, if none of it is it isn’t. BOTH eye bolt AND BOTH sticks are part of the 10 yards.
Damn, you’d think that Tom Brady was still QB at Michigan.
Btw, the next play rectified the call.
The game WAS NOT affected, the Gamecocks were in a certain way lucky to win, they were clearly outplayed by the Michigan team who had a decimated secondary.
SC was a great team, but they were generally outplayed and outfoxed. This call never affected the outcome.
Don’t confuse a coach’s actions with what he believes. He may have been arguing for one positions while knowing the ref’s decision was correct.
Seeing it live, I was wondering if they were actually going to stretch the chain before measuring. Looked loose to me, but I’m sure this has been reviewed so many times people would be talking about that.
I never did hear what the deal was with spotting the ball on the 35 after an out of bounds kick off.
They also gave Shoelace an unearned 1/2 yard of forward progress for a first down on UM’s go-ahead TD drive later in the 4th quarter...
Was I the only one that saw USC was in an illegal formation on the winning TD pass? All 3 receivers on the left of the formation were on the line of scrimmage. Therefore, USC had at least two ineligible receivers downfield.
And I was rooting for the ‘Cocks too.
But seriously, that was not a judgment call, that was black and white. What was going on?
Then, I nominate Spurrier for an Oscar! What a performance!
You are right, it was a performance.
That was his only really good play, and it was a missed blocking assignment more than Clowney's great play, how they forgot to block him of all people is beyond me. He was totally unblocked, some kind of justice for the bad call there.
Don't get me wrong, Clowney is perhaps the best defensive player in football, but the Michigan offense took him out of the game with their play calling and likewise great Left tackle.
Roger Goodell is going to retroactively fine and suspend Clowney, the instant he is drafted into the NFL.
Which one? Connor Shaw or Dylan? LOL
>>After all the placement could easily be a foot or so off.<<
Maybe an inch or two, but nowhere near a foot — at least not if the chain crew is remotely competent. There is a clip that is placed on the chain at the location of the backside of the yard line, nearest to the first down spot stick. When the Head Linesman goes back to retrieve the chains for a measurement, he goes to the clip, brings the chains out, and then places the chain down at that same yard line. The Umpire takes the line to gain stick and pulls it tight for the measurement, a determination the Referee makes. Even with the stick and the ball right next to each other, sometimes it is VERY close and a picture several feet away will not always show whether the tip of the ball is even with the stick.
This pic is terribly misleading. The pic is at a totally different angle than the Referee viewed it from. Trust me: the call was correct. Maybe not by much but he’s not going to be a college Referee and miss that.
Connor Shaw, he made play after play to keep them in the game (the other guy was good as well), although the receiver/returner (dammit, what’s his name?) who scored so much would have been my choice.
One thing Clowney did yesterday was make Taylor Lewan, the Michigan left tackle millions of extra $$$ at his future signing.
I can't believe they gave Clowney the MVP for one freaking play. Lewan basically won most of the battles, and that against the player most believe to be the best defensive player in the NCAA.
Paid off. I question Spurriers, passing LONG with less than a minute to go , his team down by 2, moving nicely on the ground near field goal range. A FG gives them the win by one. His pass goes for a TD. they win by 5.. The VEGAS SPREAD WAS 4 1/2 Hmmmmmmm
Tirico and Chuckie gave their MVP to Clowney, but Ace Sanders was the actual games’ MVP. Ace is from Bradenton, right below Tampa, and his dad is Tracey Sanders who played for the Buffalo Bills.
Read what I said again. I am not talking about the chain crew but about the ref’s placement after each play. That can be and often is off a foot or more.
Actually I am surprised how well they often do place the ball but when you just look at what you think is forward progress and spot the ball based on that it has to be just an estimate.
Unless you can guarantee that this pic is looking straight down the line to gain, its useless.
Why would the official rule a first down if he knew the ball didn’t get a part of the pole? There’s 2 other officials right there to correct him if they felt he made a mistake — the Back Judge who holds the ball down and the umpire who pulls the chain tight.
>>the refs placement after each play<<
Its called the spot.
Would you please quote the rule reference that dictates where the ball is to be placed. Include rule, section, and page number.
What the hell are you talking about?
How long before we have electronic sensor in the ball and an instant readout?
Proof that you don’t know what the hell you’re talking about. My post was easily understandable —YOU are asserting the officials miss spots routinely by being a foot or more off. I’m asking you to provide the rule reference that dictates how they are supposed to make the determination of where the spot is. You’ve never seen a rule book in your life, yet you’re asserting that those who know the rules well are missing something.
So again: if you really know what you’re talking about, provide the rule reference that will prove what you assert. There is nothing unclear about this request: put up or shut up!
Wherever you stand on this argument, this may be the funniest (and cutest) discussion about this call (ignore the ad, it’s worth it): http://www.cnn.com/video/?hpt=hp_c4#/video/us/2013/01/03/3-year-old-gamecock-fan.cnn