Not quite, Flycatcher. I am quite late on this story, but I knew my freeper friends would be up on it. In an earlier thread, an actual softball umpire chimed in and informed us that, in fact, if a player is INJURED when he is running to a base he is entitled too (home run, ball bounces out of the field of play, hit batter, etc), then a pinch runner can be called in as a substitute. The umpires at this game were wrong. A great story, but I do understand what you were alluding to.
Thanks for the (belated) update, Paradox. I learn something new every day.