Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Tiger Woods shoots 72 after someone reports penalty
CBS Sports ^ | 9-13-13 | Kyle Porter

Posted on 09/13/2013 4:58:18 PM PDT by FlJoePa

Tiger Woods shot what he thought was a 1-under 70 on Friday at the BMW Championship but was alerted that he actually shot a 1-over 72 after a two-stroke penalty that was brought to officials' attention two holes after his first hole of the day.

Here's a look at the details:

After further review Slugger White (a rules official, and what a name!) said a freelance videographer had videoed Woods behind the first green moving a loose impediment which caused the ball to move.

Rules officials reviewed the tape and determined the ball did, in fact, move.

"He thought it just oscillated and that's why he didn't do anything else. We showed him the video. The video did in fact show the ball moved. "

White said Woods didn't put up any argument but noted that he wasn't real thrilled either.

"[He was] very frustrated."

Woods actually played pretty well after his first hole, shooting 3 under on the other 17. Here's a look at his scorecard which has that ugly-looking snowman on the first:

(Excerpt) Read more at cbssports.com ...


TOPICS: Sports
KEYWORDS: golf; pga; tiger; woods
Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first 1-5051-71 next last
Seems to be a trend.
1 posted on 09/13/2013 4:58:19 PM PDT by FlJoePa
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

First NASCAR, now golf?


2 posted on 09/13/2013 5:01:07 PM PDT by 1rudeboy
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

That must really have overloaded the nearby ERs.


3 posted on 09/13/2013 5:01:21 PM PDT by arthurus (Read Hazlitt's Economics In One Lesson ONLINE http://steshaw.org/econohttp://www.fee.org/library/det)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

If you ain’t cheatin’, you ain’t tryin’.


4 posted on 09/13/2013 5:04:12 PM PDT by driveserve (You likes to drink? Of course you do! Who da hell don't?)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

Was he arrested? shooting 72 is a mass killing! why is the msm protecting him? How many machine guns with belted ammunition did he have? Oh the horridness of it.


5 posted on 09/13/2013 5:05:24 PM PDT by GreyFriar (Spearhead - 3rd Armored Division 75-78 & 83-87)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

He’s a punk. He should have self-reported this. That’s the great thing about golf. For the most part it’s a gentlemans game, and gentlemen stick to the rules.


6 posted on 09/13/2013 5:10:45 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa
Tiger was unavailable for comment.


7 posted on 09/13/2013 5:12:15 PM PDT by South40
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome
He thought it just oscillated and that's why he didn't do anything

Self reported what? He didn't feel he had anything to report.

8 posted on 09/13/2013 5:14:59 PM PDT by doc1019
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 6 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome

I golf quite a bit and I never cheat. I consider it cheating myself as I want to know that I actually beat that course, not that I had to cheat to do it.


9 posted on 09/13/2013 5:15:05 PM PDT by South40
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 6 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

Yes it does seem like a trend, in golf and other areas of character.


10 posted on 09/13/2013 5:16:25 PM PDT by jazusamo ([Obama] A Truly Great Phony -- Thomas Sowell http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/3058949/posts)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: doc1019

If there’s a question he should have reported it. The officals took a long at it and low & behold it did not oscilate. It moved. So he was wrong.


11 posted on 09/13/2013 5:18:30 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 8 | View Replies]

To: jazusamo

I meant that it seems like a trend with Tiger, not the rest of the tour.


12 posted on 09/13/2013 5:19:17 PM PDT by FlJoePa ("Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won't taste good")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 10 | View Replies]

To: South40

Woods damn well knows the rules....and if there is ANY doubt he should bring it to the attention of the offials.


13 posted on 09/13/2013 5:19:58 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 9 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome

Once again ... he didn’t feel there was a question or a problem.


14 posted on 09/13/2013 5:21:56 PM PDT by doc1019
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 11 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

I’m sorry, that’s exactly what I meant but my post didn’t reflect it.

The vast, vast number of golfers are absolutely self policing and honest.


15 posted on 09/13/2013 5:22:48 PM PDT by jazusamo ([Obama] A Truly Great Phony -- Thomas Sowell http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/3058949/posts)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 12 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome

A golfer knows if he moved his ball. I know I always do. So I have to believe Tiger knew. And if he didn’t penalize himself for doing so he intentionally cheated.


16 posted on 09/13/2013 5:23:58 PM PDT by South40
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 13 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

Lucky for him that the freelance videographer was there to record the mistake. Tiger would not have been able to sleep or party all night knowing that he had cheated again (note a couple of months ago some one had to inform him to take a penalty). Which begs the question - how many times has Tiger had oscillating golf balls (not Las Vegas oscillating balls) or other such infractions that were conveniently overlooked. But then again, if everybody else is doing it I suppose that it is then considered a “generally accepted practice” and is OK.


17 posted on 09/13/2013 5:24:14 PM PDT by RetiredTexasVet (Progressives when they fail blame others and do the same thing again expecting different results)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: doc1019

I don’t care what he FEELS. That’s not the point. The officals found that his judgement was wrong. If it’s a close call go to the officals. Golf is a game about strict rules & it’s also about honor which this scumbag lacks.


18 posted on 09/13/2013 5:25:09 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 14 | View Replies]

To: South40

“A golfer knows if he moved his ball”. Lol as a long time golfer you bet we do:)


19 posted on 09/13/2013 5:27:32 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 16 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

Caught cheating is not good for the sport.


20 posted on 09/13/2013 5:28:22 PM PDT by School of Rational Thought
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: jazusamo
I agree. He seems to have such an arrogant, self-entitled nature about him that just makes him sort of a joke, imo.

I always think back to early in his career - out in the desert I think. His ball came to rest behind a boulder and he talked the official into proclaiming it a "loose impediment" and had a legion of his fans roll the boulder out of the way so he had a clear shot to the green.

I don't think Bob Jones, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson, or thousands of others would have even THOUGHT of doing that. Yet he did it, and the media thought it was wonderful.

The stupid resort even put a plaque on the boulder - I guess to "honor" his achievement:


21 posted on 09/13/2013 5:29:29 PM PDT by FlJoePa ("Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won't taste good")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 15 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome
Removing an impediment caught on camera? How often do you think that happens by the rest of the pros who aren't caught?

I can guarandamntee you a lot............

Change the name from Woods to Mickelson and you'd be screaming......

22 posted on 09/13/2013 5:31:27 PM PDT by Hot Tabasco (')
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 6 | View Replies]

To: RetiredTexasVet

Yes, he was just caught several months ago in another questionable situation that resulted in a penalty.


23 posted on 09/13/2013 5:31:31 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 17 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa
Tiger Woods shoots 72 after someone reports penalty

Now THAT is a temper!!!

24 posted on 09/13/2013 5:31:42 PM PDT by ansel12 ( Libertarians, the left's social agenda with conservatism's economics, which is impossible of course)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Hot Tabasco

You can remove loose impediments til the cows come home (unless you’re in a hazard). The problem is when your ball moves because of YOUR actions.

Every player on that tour knows when their ball moves. Many have cost themselves tournament titles by calling it on themselves when no one else ever could have known, or seen the infraction.


25 posted on 09/13/2013 5:33:39 PM PDT by FlJoePa ("Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won't taste good")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 22 | View Replies]

To: Hot Tabasco

And you know I would give Mickelson a pass how ? To clear it up for you fanboy, no, Mickelson, if & when something like this happens, gets the same treatment from me. Any other mind-reading you want to do ?


26 posted on 09/13/2013 5:34:49 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 22 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome
you fanboy

So look who's reading minds.........so which are you, the kettle or the pot?

27 posted on 09/13/2013 5:36:45 PM PDT by Hot Tabasco (')
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 26 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa
Every player on that tour knows when their ball moves.

That goes for everyone. I definitely know when mine move.

28 posted on 09/13/2013 5:38:37 PM PDT by Hoodat (BENGHAZI - 4 KILLED, 2 MIA)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 25 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome
Yes, he was just caught several months ago in another questionable situation that resulted in a penalty.

This was in the Masters. He was "caught" by his own words saying that he had dropped the ball "a little bit further back" along a line from the hole, but this was not the applicable rule, you see. He could have dropped along the line formed by the pin and the point that the ball crossed the hazard at any distance from the hole, or he could have dropped AS CLOSE AS POSSIBLE to the original position of the ball. He went to the original position, and by his intention meant to drop it "a little further back". They irony is that in fact he dropped the ball almost exactly at its original position, as revealed by a $20,000,000 NASA investigation, so if he had just kept his yap shut, no rule violation could have been demonstrated objectively.

29 posted on 09/13/2013 5:41:02 PM PDT by dr_lew
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 23 | View Replies]

To: Hot Tabasco

That was a dig at you cause your post was trash. Utter nonsense. You deserved it. Defend Woods, fine. But don’t come at me saying I would change my mind if it was another player.


30 posted on 09/13/2013 5:42:16 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 27 | View Replies]

To: dr_lew

That’s not a correct re-cap of what happened. You cannot be penalized for wrong intent. If the drop ends up being a legal drop, it’s a legal drop. That one wasn’t. Period.


31 posted on 09/13/2013 5:44:22 PM PDT by FlJoePa ("Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won't taste good")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 29 | View Replies]

To: dr_lew
Are we dealing with the Ilie Năstasie of golf?
32 posted on 09/13/2013 5:44:37 PM PDT by Hoodat (BENGHAZI - 4 KILLED, 2 MIA)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 29 | View Replies]

To: dr_lew

Lol, good one. Is that you, Tiger.


33 posted on 09/13/2013 5:45:19 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 29 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

LOL! That was a total joke. The official should have said if he could pick up that “loose impediment” with one hand and toss it out of the way, have at it.

The penalty assessed a couple months ago was out and out cheating or he doesn’t know the rules of golf. He admitted he dropped the ball a couple yards back because his first shot was a couple yards long and that would put the next shot right on the hole. He should know he can’t improve a shot with a drop.

He’s a pro and has been for a long time, there’s no excuse for that kind of thing. You’re correct, he’s arrogant and has a self-entitled nature.


34 posted on 09/13/2013 5:45:59 PM PDT by jazusamo ([Obama] A Truly Great Phony -- Thomas Sowell http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/3058949/posts)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 21 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa
If anyone is really interested, you can watch the video here:

Here's the video. You be the judge. Did the officials get it right?

I have to agree with Tiger on this one - this was a bogus call on the part of the rules official and he shouldn’t IMO been given a two shot penalty for this. The ball did not move, i.e. roll or change position, it did oscillate a bit but, barely so, but it did not change position and his actions certainly did nothing to improve the lie, and as soon as he realized that if he did completely remove the twig from in front of the ball, that the ball would move, at that point he stopped trying to remove it and played it as it lied.

35 posted on 09/13/2013 5:51:40 PM PDT by MD Expat in PA
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa
Woods has experience with oscillations moving balls.
36 posted on 09/13/2013 5:53:36 PM PDT by JPG (Putin Does Obama.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: MD Expat in PA

I had to watch it on full screen, but the ball definitely moved. Balls don’t often “oscillate” in the woods, they do on the green sometimes. That ball pitched backwards and never returned to it’s original position.


37 posted on 09/13/2013 5:54:27 PM PDT by FlJoePa ("Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won't taste good")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 35 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome

Has Tiger ever called a penalty on himself?


38 posted on 09/13/2013 5:55:37 PM PDT by KSCITYBOY
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 6 | View Replies]

To: MD Expat in PA

If you look at it on full screen the ball did move. If there’s a chance the ball will move you don’t try to remove the impediment, if you do you and the ball moves you should be prepared to take the penalty.


39 posted on 09/13/2013 5:58:55 PM PDT by jazusamo ([Obama] A Truly Great Phony -- Thomas Sowell http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/news/3058949/posts)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 35 | View Replies]

To: MD Expat in PA

Seemed obvious that it moved to me. And I guess the officals seen the same thing.


40 posted on 09/13/2013 6:00:17 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 35 | View Replies]

To: jazusamo

And he followed that up with what most golfers do when they realize they’re getting away with something - a shitty shot. Looked like he chunked that wedge pretty bad.


41 posted on 09/13/2013 6:01:22 PM PDT by FlJoePa ("Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won't taste good")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 39 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

hahahahah....I’m not at all a fan of the First Fornicating Philanderer of Golf.


42 posted on 09/13/2013 6:06:21 PM PDT by citizen (There is always free government cheese in the mouse trap.....https://twitter.com/kracker0)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: KSCITYBOY

That’s a good question ? I don’t know.


43 posted on 09/13/2013 6:06:46 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 38 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome

THIS!! Woods should have taken the stroke penalty then and there. An honorable golfer (Mickleson and every other golfer) would have done so immediately.


44 posted on 09/13/2013 6:09:22 PM PDT by citizen (There is always free government cheese in the mouse trap.....https://twitter.com/kracker0)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 6 | View Replies]

To: citizen

I just don’t trust Woods much....fair or not.


45 posted on 09/13/2013 6:12:58 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 44 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa
I had to watch it on full screen, but the ball definitely moved. Balls don’t often “oscillate” in the woods, they do on the green sometimes. That ball pitched backwards and never returned to it’s original position.

What it again. I will concede that the ball technically did move but it certainly did not pitch backward, if anything it looked to me as if it moved ever so slightly downward, but it did not change position relative to where it originally lied, it neither moved backward nor forward nor to one side or another. As I understand the rules, for the ball to have “moved” it would have to have changed position. In this case it did not appear to have changed position. YMMV. But it is a very fine line and open to interpretation. IMO, it would have been better for Tiger to have assessed himself a one-stroke penalty.

46 posted on 09/13/2013 6:19:51 PM PDT by MD Expat in PA
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 37 | View Replies]

To: FlJoePa

Has he been arrested yet, or is he going to get away with it because he’s a celebrity?


47 posted on 09/13/2013 6:23:16 PM PDT by eclecticEel (Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness: 7/4/1776 - 3/21/2010)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: MD Expat in PA

Thanks for posting the video BTW. I put it on the 46 HDTV & the ball moved enough that Woods had to know there was an issue.


48 posted on 09/13/2013 6:23:38 PM PDT by LongWayHome
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 46 | View Replies]

To: LongWayHome
Woods damn well knows the rules....and if there is ANY doubt he should bring it to the attention of the offials.

He got nailed on a rules violation at the Masters this year. And I believe this is the second instance of him being caught on video besides the Masters. Under the old rules he would have been disqualified twice.

49 posted on 09/13/2013 6:25:55 PM PDT by Moonman62 (The US has become a government with a country, rather than a country with a government.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 13 | View Replies]

To: MD Expat in PA
I have to agree with Tiger on this one

The ball clearly changed position and since Tiger was moving twigs he had to be looking right at it and known.

Too bad this is going to overshadow Furyk's brilliant 59.

50 posted on 09/13/2013 6:29:50 PM PDT by Moonman62 (The US has become a government with a country, rather than a country with a government.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 35 | View Replies]


Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first 1-5051-71 next last

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson