Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

To: FlJoePa

Two stroke penalty only. No disqualification.

http://espn.go.com/golf/masters13/story/_/id/9167230/2013-masters-tiger-penalized-2-strokes-ball-drop-15


35 posted on 04/13/2013 7:21:52 AM PDT by Colonel_Flagg (Blather. Reince. Repeat.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies ]


To: Colonel_Flagg
"Woods was not disqualified because of a relatively recent rule that allows the rules committee discretion when it comes to violations reported after the fact. Masters officials reviewed the drop on Saturday morning, applying the revision to "Decision 33-7/4.5", which, according to the USGA's website, addresses "the situation where a player is not aware he has breached a Rule because of facts that he did not know and could not reasonably have discovered prior to returning his score card."

I'm not going to comment one or the other, other than to say they probably put this "discretion" rule in place for just this kind of situation....

lol

37 posted on 04/13/2013 7:26:11 AM PDT by wolf24
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 35 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article


FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson