Doesnt the rule say you can put it FARTHER away (but not closer)
I dont read it as saying you must put it at the first possible spot, no matter how difficult that shot would be
It is preety vague on purpose where, the only thing is that you cannot move it closer to the hole, it gives leaway only farther away
He confused the rule during the heat of the moment. It is where the ball last crossed the hazard line, not where it first crossed the hazard line. After hitting the pin, the ball entered the hazard on the left front of the green. He could of backup as far as he wanted but, likely would have been in the left hand rough.