I’m not a fan of Tiger; never have been; never will be. But I think I heard one of the announcers on the re-broadcast mention that the water hazard was being played as a “lateral hazard.”
Aren’t drop rules different for laterals?
Tiger by his own admission broke the rule. He dropped 2 yards from the place he last hit from. He did it to improve the odds on the shot. HE SIGNED AN INCORRECT ACORE.
In this case there is no wiggle room.
( ex rules official)
The pond on 15 is in no way a lateral hazard.