On thing that surprises me is that announcers do not indicate whether or not the infield fly rule has been invoked, any more. If the camera shows the second base umpire you can usually watch him. BTW, major league umpires are pretty near flawless making these calls, I am sure they recognize the situation before it arises.
BTW, major league umpires are pretty near flawless making these calls, I am sure they recognize the situation before it arises.
= = = = = = = = = = = = = =
Agreed... but I have noticed more and more that the IFR isn’t called on the HS level.
That explanation in last years Cardinal/National(?) IFR being called when it was apparently what the ‘softball people’ in my baseball days would have called the “SHORT FIELDER” was surprising to me since the interpretation (at least to me) seems to be “IF the ball is playable by an Infielder”.
In this case the SS was almost behind the LF and was calling the ball so the UMP called him out. (And, as I interpret the rule, a correct call).