Skip to comments.Hooters Ball Girl Mistakenly Fields Fair Ball During Phillies Spring Training
Posted on 03/12/2013 8:38:51 AM PDT by oxcart
click here to read article
It is a male strength to make a goober of himself. One of the things we do well. ;)
I was watching a HS Baseball game last night (JV) and 3 umps showed up. I kind of figured 2 would do the game and the other was kind of observing (probably grading?)
Anyhow runners on 1st & 2nd, 1 out the batter hits a pop fly - NOT quite a towering pop up but the ball had some loft and the 2nd baseman cleanly caught the ball.
I turned to the ‘extra’ umpire (by now I did notice he did have an area ‘Umpires ball cap on’) and ALL I said to him was:
“Doesn’t the infield fly rule come in effect anymore”?
It is a question I have been wondering about because the local HS leagues sooner NOT call it most of the time.
So, my question was directed to the ‘Trainer?’ and he looked at me like I had lit into one of the Umps and said “You aren’t supposed to vocally question decisions by the umpires”.
Well I am an old ball player and if I had ‘played’ with his family it would have been his father at the least and probably grandfather.
I said “Lets get something straight. I AM NOT questioning the call. I am NOT getting on an Umpire. I know the rules (no matter how stupid) about ‘picking on’ an Umpire. ALL I want to know ‘FROM THE SUPPOSED SENIOR UMP’ DO they not call Infield Fly Rule in HS anymore’.
That clown actually walked away from me.
Well if this is the attitude of someone that is ‘training’ or evaluating umps, one can see the attitude they may possess.
Of course, on school property, I must remain dignified at ALL times, not only because I am a guest BUT I feel my registered ‘friend’ is safer in my possession than in my vehicle, I can not afford any ‘run ins’....
Another case of make enough rules and we can all become felons after a fashion.
I remember the game, the runner was not on third and did not score in that inning. By rule, when a fielder throws a ball into the stands, all the base runners are awarded ONE base. Since the runner did not score, the official scorer ruled that the runner advanced on a “fielder’s choice”, so Nixon was not charged with an error. If the base runner had subsequently scored as a result of Nixon’s “choice”, I am sure the official scorer would have ruled it an error, since otherwise the pitch would have unfairly been charged with an earned run.
I must resist.
I MUST! resist....
By rule, ball attendants cannot interfer.
I am very surprised,
NOT ONE of you guy’s noticed the President at the game!
I think it would be a ground rule double.
On thing that surprises me is that announcers do not indicate whether or not the infield fly rule has been invoked, any more. If the camera shows the second base umpire you can usually watch him. BTW, major league umpires are pretty near flawless making these calls, I am sure they recognize the situation before it arises.
I hadn't notice, but now that you mention it, her heels are way too low, her cleavage too high and her shorts are too long. Thanks for reminding me of why we're here. Also, we can't we get a shot from the stern?
Beizbol been bery bery good to me. :)
and one of the things we most adore you for.
It reminds me of a movie I saw.
This older guy was talking to a younger one after the younger one had done something foolish and was considering doing it again. Finally, the old guy asks "Who's the girl?"
"Girl?" said the younger.
"Sure" came the reply. "If a guy does something stupid once, well...it's because he's a guy. But if a guy does something stupid twice, it's because of a girl"
Too busy looking at the Ball Girl, I suppose...
There was a game?
BTW, major league umpires are pretty near flawless making these calls, I am sure they recognize the situation before it arises.
= = = = = = = = = = = = = =
Agreed... but I have noticed more and more that the IFR isn’t called on the HS level.
That explanation in last years Cardinal/National(?) IFR being called when it was apparently what the ‘softball people’ in my baseball days would have called the “SHORT FIELDER” was surprising to me since the interpretation (at least to me) seems to be “IF the ball is playable by an Infielder”.
In this case the SS was almost behind the LF and was calling the ball so the UMP called him out. (And, as I interpret the rule, a correct call).
You mean her neckline is to high. I thought you guys wanted to see cleavage!
I know, I know. I should just be happy nobody has yelled "more boob"!
I'll leave y'all to your fun.
Understood and thank you for reminding me of that rule. Of course, the intention of the rule was to prevent runners from clearing the bases when an errant throw was made into the stands.
When I was a kid, we played ball by pre-1901 rules. There were three reasons for that:
We considered, for a time, even reverting further back than 1901. Baseball once had a rule that you could score a put out on a base runner by hitting him with a thrown ball legally in play while he was off the base paths. But after careful deliberation, we thought that rule wise to avoid getting someone seriously injured.
People forget that in the beginning days of the game, a baseball was much softer than it is now and often lopsided from extended use.
We laugh when we see those old gloves (little pliability and requiring both hands to make a catch) in museums and such, but some of us kids actually played with those gloves before our parents bought us the more modern versions. This was in the late 1960s, so not so long ago.
How lovely for those parents who view a baseball game as a wholesome family outing to have these exhibitionist females prancing about on the field. /s
Isn’t a fair ball from the ground that goes into the stands a ground rule double?
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.