Posted on 09/12/2012 7:11:36 PM PDT by Revolting cat!
Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.freerepublic.com contains content from www.tellthechildrenthetruth.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site. Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
We have already notified www.tellthechildrenthetruth.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.tellthechildrenthetruth.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.
And so it starts.
I’ve had Tell the children the truth .com in my bookmarks for almost 10 years and go there often. I have never had a problem with it.
I just went over to it and got a GOOGLE WARNING OF MALWARE.
Something is fishy here. Has the site been hacked?
You should uninstall it and use an alternate browser.
The YaHoo! Search Engine show “OK” (Green) on both FR and the other site mentioned.
Same thing with Bing.
I just tried it in Chrome and got nuttin.
It stopped the Warning a minute or so ago.
I just opened the page again, the warning of malware came up, and I hit the “Ignore this warning” down in the right lower corner. The page opened just fine.
I notice I still have a red banner with the “Warning Attack Site” on it.
There is a “Get me out of here” button and a “This is not an attack site” button on the red banner.
Again, I have been to this site many times over the last ten years and this is the first time I have ever seen a warning on it.
Norton rates the site as OK.
http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=www.tellthechildrenthetruth.com
Norton Safe Web found no issues with this site.
A complete scan by symantec reported no problems.
Threat Report
Total threats found: 0
When I typed in the name in directly in my non-public alternate personality machine.... it showed up fine.
Sounds like the moslems got to google. Didn't that used to be called a social engineering hack?
/johnny
I started a scan on my box just in case. This is no fracking joke or politics of envy against Google.
We’ve got to remember that these anti-malware outfits each have their own definition of what to consider malware.
Yesterday I received the frequent notice that there was an update available for JAVASCRIPT, so I clicked to allow the upgrade.....but the bastards also started installing GOOGLE CHROME along with it. By the time I saw what was happening it was too late, so I just let it finish and then I went to the computer control panel and uninstalled the GOOGLE CHROME program. This is MY computer; not THEIRS! I don’t want all that spyware collecting data about me!
Use Mozilla Firefox. Get rid of the crap.
I just got the exact warning at 9:35 central.
www.tellthechildrenthetruth.com
We tested this site and didn't find any significant problems.
Mcafee Site Adviser
30-day site report for: tellthechildrenthetruth.com
Currently Safe
No active threats were reported recently by users anywhere on this domain.
AVG Threat Labs
Only one reporting Malware is Google.
URL Scanner Result
AlienVault Clean site
Antiy-AVL Clean site
Avira Clean site
BitDefender Clean site
C-SIRT Clean site
CLEAN MX Clean site
Comodo Site Inspector Clean site
G-Data Clean site
Google Safebrowsing Malware site
K7AntiVirus Clean site
Malc0de Database Clean site
MalwareDomainList Clean site
MalwarePatrol Clean site
Minotaur Clean site
Opera Clean site
ParetoLogic Clean site
Phishtank Clean site
SCUMWARE.org Clean site
SecureBrain Unrated site
Sophos Unrated site
SpyEyeTracker Clean site
Sucuri SiteCheck Clean site
URLQuery Unrated site
VX Vault Clean site
Websense ThreatSeeker Clean site
Wepawet Unrated site
Yandex Safebrowsing Clean site
ZDB Zeus Clean site
ZeusTracker Clean site
zvelo Clean site
Any details from Google?
False positive, apparently, like the STD tests on Paris Hilton.
This is one of the times that I wish F.R. had a “like” button :)
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for tellthechildrenthetruth.com
What is the current listing status for tellthechildrenthetruth.com?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 4 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 8 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 6 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-09-12, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-09-12.
Malicious software is hosted on 2 domain(s), including adminsown.ru/, handleipodtouches.ru/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS46606 (BLUEHOST).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, tellthechildrenthetruth.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google’s Webmaster Help Center.
Updated 2 hours ago
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://tellthechildrenthetruth.com/
Hacks happen.
Not so long ago, I searched Google for Fiji, and the official Fiji government site description said, “Buy Viagra on-line! Cheapest prices!” Since I don’t think the government of Fiji is selling Viagra, I put in a report to Google about it. It was fixed within a minute, and the Fiji government site now says “Official Fiji Government website...”
Google’s search engine malware detect thing seems to just occasionally get false positives. I’ve seen on it on really random stuff. Usually gets corrected quickly.
Methinks that Google is acting like a nObama apologist here, since the content is definitely anti-Muslim!
You “Like” that someone dissed Chrome? Again? For the millionth time? How original! What evil humongous company’s browser do you use?
When I click on the link to your FR homepage I get a pop-up warning saying...
There’s been a lot of that lately.
Wow! Time to fumigate the litterbox . . .
LOL!
"The Googles, they do nothing!"
I added this to my computer maybe a year ago and it’s excellent. It is a “do not track” program that blocks everything.
http://www.abine.com/yahoo/index.php
There’s been a lot of that lately.
Often times that is due to a re-direct within your own system or router. Wouldn’t know for sure that the site was compromised except to go in through a completely different route. The rapid correction makes it more likely the problem was on your machine, since actual changes take time to install and/or propagate. It would have been interesting to know the actual IP you were accessing before and after the fix.
Joe Bloe is evil. No conjecture, just fact.
Wow. Impressive reply.
Thanks for that.
I wondered how Do Not Track Plus stacked up against Ghostery. Apparently very well:
http://www.itworld.com/it-managementstrategy/248582/how-kill-web-trackers-dead?page=0,0
Wow. Impressive reply.
Thanks. I wonder though if it’s not too late, as they already know everything there is to know about us.
Get in the litter box.Now.
I will as soon as you perform a miracle of malware disappearance.
I know one thing, homie - once you identify your Internet browser, or just mention a name of an Internet browser, any browser, it’s in a way like mentioning the name Mohammed, provocative, a swarm of wild fools will react immediately with posts saying confidently that it is certifiable evil, (a fact not a conjecture!) literally Communist, abortionist, etc.
I thought we were FRiends.
If you use Linux, installing Chrome is apparently now the only way to get Flash updates. No new versions of Flash will be released for other browsers.
Google Chrome is certifiably evil.
Yet their corporate motto is "Don't be evil." I'd call that Orwellian, but Google has my IP address...
We are, which is why I’d expect FRiendly miracles!
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.