Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Baseball rule question (please don't kill me!)
Self | 4/5/'12 | Zionist Conspirator

Posted on 04/05/2012 1:25:54 PM PDT by Zionist Conspirator

I know the rules of baseball can be arcane and--dare I say it?--Talmudic. But I saw something in today's Braves/Mets opener that I simply don't understand. I've done a web search but come up blank.

It's the bottom of the second. Ike Davis is at bat for the Mets; first base is open. He has two strikes on him. He swings and misses at the third strike, but it barely touches the ground before being caught.

Now as I understand it, this entitled him to run for first base. But he didn't. Instead he informed the umpire that the ball had touched the ground (apparently the ump didn't see that) and, rather than being sent to first base, was given another pitch to swing at (what . . . ?). Ironically, he again struck out on a ball in the dirt and this time was thrown out at first base.

I have never seen this situation before and can't find any reference to it. Are there any baseball fan FReepers who know why this third-strike-not-caught got the batter an extra pitch rather than a chance to reach first base?


TOPICS: Chit/Chat; Hobbies; Reference; Sports
KEYWORDS: baseball; inquiry; mlb; obscurerules
Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first 1-2021-4041-6061-8081-89 next last

1 posted on 04/05/2012 1:26:03 PM PDT by Zionist Conspirator
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Foul tip.
If the catcher catches it before it hits the ground—it’s strike three.
If it hits the ground—foul ball.


2 posted on 04/05/2012 1:28:17 PM PDT by San Jacinto
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Could he have been arguing that he barely tipped it foul instead of it being a clean swing and miss? That’s the only thing I can think of.


3 posted on 04/05/2012 1:29:33 PM PDT by Carlucci
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator
He has two strikes on him. He swings and misses at the third strike, but it barely touches the ground before being caught.

That sounds like an out to me.
4 posted on 04/05/2012 1:30:06 PM PDT by cripplecreek (What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world but loses his soul?)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Sounds like a foul tip to me.

Cheers


5 posted on 04/05/2012 1:31:14 PM PDT by DoctorBulldog (Obama Sucks!!!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Only thing i can think of is the ump may have thought Davis tipped it. Sounds weird but umps get it wrong a few times a year. I’m sure someone else was watching the game. Santana looked good anyway.


6 posted on 04/05/2012 1:31:37 PM PDT by Karliner ( Jeremiah 29:11, Romans 8:28, Romans 8:38"...this is the end of the beginning."WC)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: San Jacinto

You’re right, had to be a foul tip that hit the ground before the catcher caught it.


7 posted on 04/05/2012 1:32:51 PM PDT by khenrich (And people thought Jimmy Carter was our worst president........)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Ump called a foul tip. Musta been.


8 posted on 04/05/2012 1:39:56 PM PDT by Jack Hammer
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: San Jacinto

Umps usually go by sound on a foul tip. Did the home plate ump make the call himself or did he ask for help from one of the other umpires?


9 posted on 04/05/2012 1:43:34 PM PDT by THX 1138 ("Harry, I have a gift.")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: All
Thanks everybody. I didn't get the foul tip part (if that's what it was).

We all know that in baseball not only do the rules have exceptions, but even the exceptions have exceptions.

10 posted on 04/05/2012 1:43:41 PM PDT by Zionist Conspirator (Ki-hagoy vehamamlakhah 'asher lo'-ya`avdukh yove'du; vehagoyim charov yecheravu!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 8 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

I thought you were going to ask Skip’s favorite question. “What’s the infield fly rule?” :)

OT: my favorite Skip Carey hot mike moment was after a young girl sang the National Anthem. It was not pretty. Skip said what everyone was thinking, “My God! That was awful!”

That was Skip. :)


11 posted on 04/05/2012 1:46:23 PM PDT by Protect the Bill of Rights
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

The first two foul balls count as strikes, after that fouls are ignored unless caught.


12 posted on 04/05/2012 1:48:21 PM PDT by stormer
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 10 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

On a third strike if the ball gets away from the catcher the batter can try to run to first. If he beats the throw to first he is safe and the inning continues even though the batter is officially “out”.


13 posted on 04/05/2012 1:48:30 PM PDT by AceMineral (Some people are too stupid for their own good.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 10 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Strike 3 has to be caught by the catcher regardless if it was tipped or not. If it hits the ground the runner can run to first and the catcher will have to throw him out just as if he got a hit.

I hate referring anyone to wiki but it is explained well on this topic.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uncaught_third_strike


14 posted on 04/05/2012 1:50:52 PM PDT by barmag25
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

I’m with the crew that thinks a foul tip, so the HPU gave it to him. it’s the only way the scenario makes sense that you have described.


15 posted on 04/05/2012 1:52:36 PM PDT by IllumiNaughtyByNature ($1.84 - The price of a gallon of gas on Jan. 20th, 2009.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: barmag25

How about if first base is occupied? Does the catcher still have to catch a strike for it to be an out.


16 posted on 04/05/2012 1:59:35 PM PDT by Rik0Shay
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 14 | View Replies]

To: AceMineral

Well, the official scorekeeper marks that as the batter bing on 1st base via K-e2 (Strikeout, batter reaching first on an error by the catcher).

The batter is credited on his stats with a strikeout (not an Out).


17 posted on 04/05/2012 2:03:28 PM PDT by BreitbartSentMe (Breitbart sent me)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 13 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

The more serious question is: what were you doing watching the Mets game?


18 posted on 04/05/2012 2:03:45 PM PDT by campaignPete R-CT (and we are still campaigning against MITT in CT.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Zionist Conspirator

Foul tip.


19 posted on 04/05/2012 2:03:48 PM PDT by BuckeyeTexan (Man is not free unless government is limited. ~Ronald Reagan)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Rik0Shay

With less than 2 outs, if 1st base is occupied, the batter is out regardless if the catcher throws to first or not. The baserunner can advance at his own peril.


20 posted on 04/05/2012 2:05:43 PM PDT by BreitbartSentMe (Breitbart sent me)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 16 | View Replies]


Navigation: use the links below to view more comments.
first 1-2021-4041-6061-8081-89 next last

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson